Wk13 – Artist Conversation – Nick Bamford

image

Artist: Nick Bamford

Exhibition: N/A

Media: Contemporary Sculpture

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov-Gallery East

Website: N/A

Instagram: @nickbamf4d

For this week, I am going to cover Nick Bamford’s contemporary sculptures that were showcased in the CSULB School of Art’s Gatov East Gallery. As seen on his Instagram, his main focuses are “ceramics and sculpture.” His ceramic work is super impressive! Fom what I’ve seen online, he tends to focus on creating facial and body features. However, for this specific showcase, he just focused on his sculptures – which are super awesome! First off, I’d just like to mention how I can’t imagine how many hours he spent on each of these pieces! If I were to create ANYTHING comparable to the size of his pieces, it would literally take me days, probably even weeks to finish. I would have such assembling items together as the piece gets taller. Nonetheless, these sculptures are all built in such a precise way that has little to no room for error. I believe that if you were to place a certain item out of place then it would tip over and fall. Imagine placing or drilling an two items together at the top of the piece…then boom, there goes your entire piece crashing down!

image

In addition, I like that the placements of his pieces are so ectopic. For instance, there are items sticking out and facing different directions. Bamford could have created a sculpture that was built of stacked items, but he clearly took a different route. Now, another thing I enjoyed about this showcase are the lights! As mentioned before in previous posts, I attend a lot of raves and music festivals and I’m absolutely stunned by the production and artwork I often come across. I believe that the lights in these sculptures made his showcase 100 times more interesting than if it wouldn’t have lights at all. The lights just immediately draw your attention. As soon as I walked into the Gallery, I was like “How cool, look at the lights!” I know that sounds very childish to say, but the honestly did enhance his pieces and brought them to life. Also, it’s just something we don’t see often in Art. But, overall my absolute favorite thing about this showcase is the fact that Bramford gave these super random items he found and totally gave them another purpose! They could have just been thrown away or not even used, but Bramford decided to give them another chance to be useful. I understand why people throw away a lot of stuff they don’t need, but if it can be reinvented into something else then they should just keep it. For instance, my sister had this habit of throwing away the caps from the Snapple she would drink. I just they were pretty cool and I actually made a belt out of them. I just hotglued them a plain belt I had, but by adding those caps, it gave the belt more personality. All in all, I believe that Bramford’s was certainly creative and although our visits to the Galleries will end soon; I do plan on keeping in touch with his IG to see what kind of ceramics and sculptures he has in store for the future. His work is so out-of-the-ordinary and something I’d even like to share with others.

image

Leave a Reply

