Wk13 – Art Experience – Art Care Package

image

Items included: (1) Disneyland Parking Ticket, (1) Disneyland 1st time visit button, (3) rave kandi bracelets, (1) Disneyland Park-Hopper Ticket, (1) Flyer for Lightning in a Bottle, (1) kaleidoscope glasses from Beyond Wonderland 2016, and (1) The Good Dinosaur Postcard from Disney’s Art Gallery Shop in Downtown Disney 🙂

I believe sending someone an ACP is similar to sending some a Snapchat because you’re technically still sending someone a message – regardless if it’s through a photo, message, or plain text. Snapchat has the option to send only messages, as if it were like texting, so I guess sending a sheet of paper with words is about the same thing. An ACP and Snapchat are are similary because you are also able to share memories that you’ve experienced with someone else. However, the ACP is the physical form of sharing memories. Whereas, you’re only capable of viewing the Snapchat for a few seconds. I mean you do have the power to save Snapchats, but what are the odds that you’ll actually view them again? Not likely. Another difference between the ACP and Snapchat is that the ACP (if you send it through mail) will take longer for your family/friend/penpal to receive it, rather than having the person you’re sending it to literally receive in the span of a few seconds. ACP is full of ephemeras that the receiver is able to keep for themselves forever! However, Snapchat photos only last for the span of 10 seconds I believe. Overall, I think the ACP is way cooler than Snapchats, ultimately because you’re giving memories that you once had to someone else. It’s like they’re becoming a part of you by receiving this gift!

Now, I believe that ephemeras are super precious. I have many wristbands, flyers, tickets, and photos that I save from all of the events I’ve attended. They mean more than the world to me and I believe it’s nice to keep these little reminders around, because they bring so much joy to you in the future! You could be going through a box of ephemeras and be like “woah, that trip was pretty cool.” I do believe that ephemeras do gain value over time. For instance, when I was 18 years old, I went to my first rave in Las Vegas. To receive admission into the 3-day event, I was given a card, almost like an ID card, that would be scanned at the front gate. However, the following year I went, they actually had wristbands! So, I thought it was pretty cool that I had a different type of ticket. I don’t think they will bring back the card admission because a lot of festival goers would lose them. Thus, that’s why the wristband is liked a lot more. Now, I do also believe that my grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago and tickets from Woodstock means something to me! It’s like saying is the first Disneyland ticket not worth anything?! People literally pay hundreds of dollars to collect things like that. It’s absolutely insane!

In all honesty, I don’t think there’s a difference between art that is seen by many people versus art that is seen by few. What if someone is extremely talented, but they’re just super self conscious about showing their art work to others? There Art might be fantastic Art work that hasn’t been revealed to the world yet! I believe if someone puts their full potential and creativity into creating something they envision, then it is Art. The worth of someone’s Art shouldn’t be defined by it’s likeliness. That’s like saying if someone not pretty just because they didn’t get a lot of likes on Instagram? I don’t think so. The only person who should be able to criticize your Art is yourself, because you’re the only one who is going to make the changes it may need!

Now, I believe that time and effort difference does mean something! Certainly, waiting for something such as an ACP is so much more worth than anticipating a Snapchat. What can I possibly do with a photo and video that eventually erases?! Nothing really, besides hope to screenshot in time before it disappears. I would prefer to receive an ACP because they usually contain items that people once adored and are passing down to another person. Ideally, if I’m expecting something I’m really looking forward to receive – I would prefer for it to come as soon as possible such as concert tickets or clothes I ordered online. However, if it something I have no interest in, then I honestly don’t care how slow it will take to get to me.

Lastly, I do believe that you can prepare a meal with love – even if it’s McDonald’s, haha! It’s all about presentation! Instead of having the cook throw together a bunch of ingredients together, they could handle the food better. This simply shows that they care about the food and customer. I mean, I’m sure we’ve all gotten poorly presented food and that’s because the cook they simply don’t care about what the customer thinks about whatsoever! Also, I do believe that an ACP does have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat. I personally picked out items that define who I am in my package. The theme of my package is happiness. I included things from Disneyland and raving because they are two of the most important things in my life that have shaped who I am today and both things bring so much joy to my life. Without attending events, I would not have the most fabulous, caring, and fun friends/family any girl could ask for. The same goes for Disneyland: I’ve always gone to the park, since I was about 4 years old, and I’m beyond happy to be part of the company to this day. Therefore, I hope when my ACP is received, my partner truly enjoys what I packed inside for her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

