Wk2 – Art Experience – Plaster Casting

Oh don’t mind me just mixing the plaster with my bare hands!!! It was so messy. 😱


This was my plaster casting baby, just molding into my beautiful leg/foot. Hahah!


This was the outcome of my oddly shaped foot. I didn’t brush off all of the sand by the way.


Look at my little nubs, they are so cute!

Anyways…

I’m surprised, but happy to say that I found a lot of joy out of this assignment. At first, I thought “Oh god, I have to go out of my way to go and work on an art project at the beach. It’s going to be so cold!” But once I actually got to the beach, along with the company of my boyfriend (the photographer), I thought “Hmm, I haven’t been here in a while. This is quite nice.” I really enjoyed going to the beach because it was hella empty and the weather was just perfect. Surely enough, that made me instantly realize that I honestly have taken the beach for granted for so long! I also had a lot of fun making the plaster casting. I really admired how there was a lot of teamwork between my boyfriend and I. When he picked me up from my last class, he was like “Hey, I’ve got the supplies ready. Don’t worry about it.” That was so nice of him! I didn’t have to waste my time going to the store or spending my money as well. It just showed that he truly cares about my education. Yay, how sweet! Anyways, the teamwork was great as mentioned earlier. For example, he would dig up the semi-deep hole (with no shovel because he forgot one) or I’d run to shore to grab a bucket of water. I’d do the easy parts like fill in the plaster or brush off the sand, while he did the “not-so-easy” work such as taking my foot out of the sand. That moment was so detrimental. I literally told him, “Hey, no pressure but if you don’t pull me out of this hole correctly, my art project is going to be a total mess and all poopy.” But, I didn’t underestimate him and he actually did a pretty good job getting me out of there without ruining the molding. Yay!

Now, I’ve never done anything quite like this. I think the closest I’ve gotten to creating a  plaster casting before was when I was really little, I covered my entire hand with Play-Doh and slowly pulled everything off but reconstructed the shape. I was extremely bored one day and it actually didn’t come out too well. Haha! However, I can totally think of other ways to apply or adapt plaster casting to other activities in my life. For example, since I’m very fond of making jewelry, I’m thinking of making beads out of the plaster. I’m not sure if food dye with mix well with the plaster, but if it does then I’d just make different colored batches of the plaster and produce a variety of different shaped beads. For example, I’ll make some regular o-shaped beads and then I’ll attempt to make triangle, heart, or star-shaped beads after. Then, I could use the could the beads to make a necklace, anklet, or bracelet of some sort. Another way to apply plaster casting to my everyday life would be to help my mom out with her own personal art projects. Since she’s been laid off from work, she likes to spend a lot of her time doing art projects. She really likes going to the beach to find super smooth, medium sized rocks so she can paint on them. She often draws beach scenes or flowers on them. Once she even painted Disneyland’s castle on this white stoned rock and gave it to me. The reason for is because I work at Disneyland, so I thought that was really sweet of her. Anyways, the problem with her paintings is that she has difficulty finding the perfect sized rock. They’re often too small to work with. So, I think that if I start making plaster castings of some decent sized rocks, she will pretty happy. I plan to do multiple sizes for her own liking. Also, if I choose to do this again in the future, I will definitely  attempt to mold out a heart shaped rock just because I love her so much! 🙂

Overall, I really enjoyed this assignment because I loved the outcome of my casting. One of my favorite parts of my casting was the shaping of my toes. I’m so serious when I say that, especially since you can literally see the imprint of my toe nails. I just found my toes oddly cute because they are so nubby. I also like that I have something to remember this class now. Often, classes just turn in assignments, whether if it’s a digital or paper assignment. I just feel like with this class, I physically have a memory of something I’ve done and I think that’s pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

